More ...
  Music News  
  More Music News  


 Spacelab News Feeds  
  Click here to subscribe  Jack in to the RSS feed  
 Search Spacelab

Google Custom Search

Apples In Stereo

SIGNED: Apples In Stereo Sign To Simian Records


By: Spacelab Research Staff
After leaving their longtime SpinART home, Apples In Stereo have found a new home on Simian Records. They'll release their new album, New Magnetic Wonder, on February 7th, 2007 through Simian and a little help from Yep Roc Records and Redeye Distribution. It seems like everybody's got their chocolate up in everybody else's peanut butter.

The album will feature lots of appearances from Elephant 6 people and friends, like Jeff Magnum, Bill Doss, Will Hart and John Fernandes; ex-member Hilarie Sidney wrote two of the songs on the album.

Apples In Stereo used Bryce Goggin (Pavement, Sebadoh, Phish, Sean Lennon) for the studio knob twiddling, as he was also the the man behind the mixing on the previous Apples In Stereo album Velocity of Sound. According to a statement from Yep Roc, "Goggin and Schneider together massaged the vortex between lush orchestration and an indie rock sparseness all the while understanding the Apples collective unconscious, infused by influences as diverse as ELO, Pavement, and the Beach Boys." I guess what happens in the studio doesn't stay in the studio. I feel dirty now.

And the band put the studio to the test, with Schneider using up to 96 tracks of sound on some songs, including Same Old Drag. It was so processor intensive, they kept crashing Bryce Goggins's Pro Tools rig.

"Finishing this record took every joule of energy I had. There were so many different sounds and ideas bouncing around in my head, and such strong feelings to get across. With Velocity of Sound, I returned to the rawness of our live shows and the fuzzy vibe of our early four-track recordings. This time I wanted to make a record that really meant something, that felt life affirming and real, yet ultra hi-fi and unreal at the same time. Apparently that kind of record is not technically feasible," said Schneider when talking about the process of completing the album.

Simian Records is the new label formed by actor Elijah Wood. Apples In Stereo frontman Robert Schneider ran into Wood at the 2003 SXSW music festival... one was starting a label, one was looking for a label... more chocolate and peanut butter stories.


 Galaxy Media Player: Watch videos and listen to music

 More music news

Digg it | Post to del.icio.us


Apples In Stereo : New Magnetic Wonder Track List :
01 Can You Feel It?
02 Skyway
03 Mellotron 1
04 Energy
05 Same Old Drag
06 Joanie Don’t U Worry
07 Sunndal Song
08 Droplet
09 Play Tough
10 Sun is Out
11 Non-Pythagorean Composition 1

12 Hello Lola
13 7 Stars
14 Mellotron 2
15 Sunday Sounds
16 Open Eyes
17 Crimson
18 Pre-Crimson
19 Vocoder Ba Ba
20 Radiation
21 Beautiful Machine Parts 1-2
22 Beautiful Machine Parts 3-4
23 My Pretend
24 Non-Pythagorean Composition 3

  Research Staff
Spacelab Research Staff

Spacelab is looking for contributing writers to be part of the Spacelab Research Staff  LEARN More

Creative Commons Copyright, 2017. Some Rights Reserved.
SPACELAB is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 United States License. MORE >
ASIA     RSS