More ...
  Music News  
  More Music News  


 Spacelab News Feeds  
  Click here to subscribe  Jack in to the RSS feed  
 Search Spacelab

Google Custom Search

Bloc Party

Sonic Youth Unveil Artwork and Track List For Rarities Release


By: Spacelab Research Staff
Sonic Youth will release an album of hard to find tracks under the title The Destroyed Room: B-sides and Rarities. With a release date of December 12th, it arrives just in time for holiday gift-giving. It's a look at some of the offbeat moments of Sonic Youth's time on Geffen Records, and is probably the last album they'll release with the label.

"I don't really think they want us to stay. They fired a few key people working on [2006 album Rather Ripped] a week before it came out. Our A&R person — he worked on our last record with us, and that was the first time we had an A&R person in five years, but we liked him. Also a marketing person who had really good ideas. So, I don't know," said Kim Gordon when speaking to Billboard recently.

There's also a new release on Sonic Youth imprint Saucerlike Recordings that features Thurston Moore, Lee Renaldo, Steve Shelley, and Jim O'Rourke. It was recorded earlier this year while the band was in Australia, 'live-to-acetate.' Kim Gordon wasn't able to make the session, so her contribution will be the album artwork. The release is titled Melbourne Direct.

The double-vinyl release will be a limited run of only 800 copies, so sign up now! Be the first on your block to have a live-to-acetate recording of Sonic Youth noisescapes.

Don't stare directly at the track list! You might go blind!

 Galaxy Media Player Galaxy Media Player: Watch videos and listen to music

 Check out the new Spacelab Radio - LISTEN NOW

 More music news

Digg it | Post to del.icio.us


The Destroyed Room: B-sides and Rarities
01 Fire Engine Dream
02 Fauxhemians
03 Is It My Body?
04 Razor Blade
05 Blink
06 Campfire
07 Loop Cat
08 Kim's Chords
09 Beautiful Plateau
10 Three Part Sectional Love Seat
11 Queen Anne Chair
12 The Diamond Sea