More ...
  Music News  
  More Music News  


 Spacelab News Feeds  
  Click here to subscribe  Jack in to the RSS feed  
 Search Spacelab

Google Custom Search

Animal Collective

Animal Collective Update: The Kids Are Alright


By: Spacelab Research Staff
FatCat Records will be releasing a new Animal Collective EP in the new year, featuring tracks from the Feels recording sessions in Seattle from 2005. It features 3 studio tracks and one live recording. FatCat is calling the music "challenging modern pop, " which might be a bit of an understatement, but fairly true.

The EP is titled People, and will be available on CD and 12" vinyl. This is a larger release of a limted run version of the EP available from the band while on tour in Australia. It will feature contributions from Eyvind Kang on violin (Mr. Bungle, Sun City Girls), and Kristín Anna Valtysdóttir on piano (Múm, Storsveit Nix Noltes).

Animal Collective have also been working feverishly on a live box set, due out sometime in 2007 on Catsup Plate Records.

Before you think the band has gotten lazy and is looking to unearth old material to crank out unto the masses, consider this: Animal Collective have also been writing new material which they hope to record and release sometime in 2007. They've assured us that they're putting together some shows in the new year too, but nothing is official on the live thing yet.

Noah Lennox, aka Panda Bear, also released a solo 12" vinyl single titled Bros in early December. Culled from material played in 2005 live shows, the song Bros is actually a combination of songs into one longer epic song. Side B features a Terrestrial Tones remix of of Bros.

No, we're not done yet. There's also a split Panda Bear / Excepter split 12" vinyl release coming out on Paw Tracks in January, and then a full-on solo release by Panda Bear alongside other potential Panda Bear releases. Details are a bit fuzzy, but it looks like the Panada Bear material will come out in various EP releases with and then compiled into a full-length release titled Person Pitch, to be released on March 20th via Paw Tracks. And of course, he'll be touring, too.

Animal Collective: People EP Track List
01 People
02 Tikwid
03 My Favorite Colors
04 People (Live)

 Galaxy Media Player Galaxy Media Player: Watch videos and listen to music

 Check out the new Spacelab Radio - LISTEN NOW

 More music news



Digg it | Post to del.icio.us