More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Tricky's Back ...
On Domino Records


By: Spacelab Research Staff


Returning from (almost) exile, is Tricky. The news broke late last week that he'd be releasing a new album of material called Knowle West Boy through Domino Recording Company, a full length effort due out this Summer. It's Tricky comprehensive and pushing himself in new directions, and is the first proper release since 2003's Vulnerable. It seems that Trickola was feeling pigeonholed by some of the sounds he'd made in the past.


"This album could make people uncomfortable. It's a jumble of thoughts. When I first came into the public eye in the mid-'90s I was misunderstood. People think I'm a hardcore, dark guy. If you meet me, I'm quite a funny guy. I’m clumsy, I make fun of myself all the time. But that's not how I’m perceived," said Tricky.


"'Knowle West Boy' was recorded in London and LA. It was initially recorded over a year ago in London. But I wasn't really happy with the writing. Some of it was just too generic. So I brought it back here to LA and rewrote everything. It’s totally self-produced apart from a couple of tracks that were co-produced by Switch."


Collaborating with Tricky on Knowle West Boy are Switch, Alex Mills, Rodigan, and Hafdis, among others.


The single Council Estate will be available as a download on June 23 and June 30th for the street release (U.K.). The album Knowle West Boy will be released on July 7th (U.K.) and September 9th (U.S.) through Domino Recording Company.


There's also a collaborative remix effort for the first single Council Estate. You can download all of the tracks at the web site dedicated to the album , and send the remixes to Domino.


Call it the year of the re-emergence of the Trip Hop peeps. 2008 will see the re-emergence of some of the Bristol players: Portishead, Massive Attack (release it!), and now Tricky.


He's due at the Splendour In The Grass Festival in Australia and Benicassim in Spain.


Tricky's been busy all of this time doing soundtracks for Jerry Bruckheimer in L.A. and with his label Brown Punk, which he started with Chris Blackwell. Brown Punk is a collaborative effort between artist and label, where they split the take 50/50.


Tricky: Knowle West Boy Track List
01 Puppy Toy
02 Bacative
03 Joseph
04 Veronica
05 C'mon Baby
06 Council Estate
07 Past Mistake
08 Coalition
09 Cross To Bear
10 Slow
11 Baligaga
12 Far Away
13 School Gates
14 Knowle West Boy

Add to Digg Digg it   Add to del.icio.us Post to del.icio.us   Facebook Facebook
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines