More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Department of Eagles
PHOTO BY: Amelia Bauer

Department Of Eagles Join 4AD


By: Spacelab Research Staff

Department of Eagles have signed on to 4AD for the release of their next album, In Ear Park. It's a project that involves Daniel Rosen (Grizzly Bear) and Fred Nicolaus. The album has been in the works for about 4 years, and will finally see the light of day on October 6th.


"In Ear Park has been in the making in one form or another for several years now, on and off tour and after work. A lot of these songs felt way too personal to bring to Grizzly Bear -- there's a lot of childhood nostalgia and an emphasis on more concise songwriting," said Rosen when talking about the album.


When the Grizzly Bear peeps get together for a side project, the apple doesn't fall far from the tree. So much so, in fact, that Daniel Rossen received help from GB cohorts Chris Bear and Chris Taylor. Chris Taylor did the recording and engineering in the studio.


The album will be the follow up the previously released The Cold Nose. This time, DOE felt the urge to push their sound further in new directions.


"Fred and I had license to try some things that I could never get away with otherwise, but we still went for the lushness and and attention to sonic detail that Chris and I always want out of a recording. I'm excited. "


Check out the new song In Ear Park ... it starts out quietly subversive before arriving at an off-kilter and surreal sound. It's acoustic but almost cathartic in a lurching sense.



Click to play MP3: Department of Eagles - In Ear Park



Department of Eagles: In Ear Park Track List
01. In Ear Park
02. No One Does It
03. Phantom Other
04. Teenagers
05. Around the Bay
06. Herring Bone
07. Classical Records
08. Waves of Rye
09. Interlude
10. Floating on the Lehigh
11. Balmy Night


Add to Digg Digg it   Add to del.icio.us Post to del.icio.us   Facebook Facebook
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines