More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

The Drones Emerge from the Wilderness With a New Album


By: Spacelab Research Staff

The Drones are set to release a new album in 2009, the follow up to 2006's Gala Mill. Titled Havilah, the album was recorded at the home of singer Gareth Liddiard and his partner, bassist Fiona Kitschin
in the foothills of Mt Buffalo in Australia. And it's dark.


"It's not like going on a summer holiday. This time we were ready for something that was less of an ordeal every time we had to play it. And I wanted to write songs that were a bit more abstract, so you can make up your own mind about them," said Gareth Liddiard.


The Drones compare themselves to Neil Young, Suicide and the Velvet Underground, with a sound that, well, is kind of drone-ish. I guess there's no surprise there. Check out the Streams below to listen to two tracks from the upcoming album. The band won the Australian Music Prize in 2006.


Havilah will be released worldwide by ATP Recordings in early 2009.


 VIDEO: Drones - Minotaur



Drones: Havilah Track List
01 Nail it Down
02 The Minotaur
03 Drifting Housewife
04 I am the Supercargo
05 Careful as You Go
06 Oh My
07 Cold and Sober
08 Luck in Odd Numbers
09 Penumber
10 You’re Acting Like it’s the End of the World


Tags: Drones

Add to Digg Digg it   Add to del.icio.us Post to del.icio.us   Facebook Facebook
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines