More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Measure This: Metric Are Back In April With Self-Produced Album


By: Spacelab Research Staff

Metric will release their long-awaited album, Fantasies, on April 14. It's the follow-up to 2005's Live It Out, an album that put the band on the map. Last year, manager Mathieu Drouin talked about keeping the band's options flexible ... and that's just what they did.


"It was strange having some real choices for the first time in our career while also feeling like whichever deal we chose was going to end up being restrictive and force us to compromise creatively. At one point, we just said 'oh fuck it, lets gamble', took a deep breath and decided to put this record out worldwide our own way," said frontwoman Emily Haines.


What does this mean? Metric Corp! They've set up global ops to distribute the album, they paid for the recording themselves, and will work that angle for the rest of the year.


"But we're not doing it totally on our own" said guitarist Jimmy Shaw. "In Canada it's coming out with Last Gang who released Live it Out and Old World Underground, Where Are You Now? and our friends at Arts & Crafts will be releasing the album in Mexico."


In a video interview monologue with Emily Haines, she talks about how she escaped to Buenos Aries last year to write new music, and what came out was the most simple and clear work she had ever done.


The album is available for pre-order now, and all pre-orders come with a free MP3 of the song "Help I'm Alive," plus bonus materials.


Tour dates for the U.S. in June are promised soon.


 VIDEO: Emily Haines Interview Monologue


Metric: Fantasies Track List
01 Help I'm Alive
02 Sick Muse
03 Satellite Mind
04 Twilight Galaxy
05 Gold Guns Girls
06 Gimme Sympathy
07 Collect Call
08 Front Row
09 Blindness
10 Stadium Love


Tags: Metric

Add to Digg Digg it   Add to del.icio.us Post to del.icio.us   Facebook Facebook
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines