More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Merge Records SCORE!

Merge Records Tells of
The Covers Part of Its
SCORE! Boxed Set


By: Spacelab Research Staff

Merge Records is issuing a 20th anniversary boxed set of Merge artists titled SCORE! Merge Records: The First 20 Years to celebrate the label's 20th anniversary. This week they revealed the track list of "The Covers" volume of the boxed set.

"The Covers" is one of two volumes being released commercially and independently from the complete set. It will be available on April 7th. The volume features Merge artists playing cover versions of other artists on the Merge label.

The overall SCORE! set will be a large edition, with 14 volumes of Merge goodness and history. They've asked a lot of people to curate,  curators of the first volumes will include Peter Buck (R.E.M.) and Phil Morrison (Junebug, The Upright Citizens Brigade). Future curators include David Byrne, Amy Poehler, Jonathan Lethem, Marcel Dzama, David Chang and more.

The labels is also hosting a festival for the anniversary, titled XX Merge.



SCORE! The Covers Track List
01 Quasi – Beautiful Things (3Ds)
02 Les Savy Fav – Precision Auto (Superchunk)
03 The Shins – Plenty Is Never Enough (Tenement Halls)
04 St. Vincent and The National – Sleep All Summer (Crooked Fingers)
05 Broken Social Scene – Complications (The Clean)
06 Ryan Adams – Like a Fool (Superchunk)
07 Bright Eyes – Papa Was a Rodeo (The Magnetic Fields)
08 Lavender Diamond – New Ways of Living (Destroyer)
09 The Apples in stereo – King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 3 (Neutral Milk Hotel)
10 Laura Cantrell – Cowboy on the Moon (Lambchop)
11 Bill Callahan – Santa Maria (Versus)
12 Barbara Manning – Through With People (Portastatic)
13 The Mountain Goats – Drug Life (East River Pipe)
14 The New Pornographers – Don’t Destroy This Night (The Rock*A*Teens)
15 Tracey Thorn & Jens Lekman – Yeah! Oh, Yeah! (The Magnetic Fields)
16 The Hive Dwellers – My Noise (Superchunk)
17 Ted Leo & The Pharmacists – The Numbered Head (Robert Pollard)
18 Okkervil River – All You Little Suckers (East River Pipe)
19 Death Cab for Cutie – Kicked In (Superchunk)
20 Times New Viking – Neighborhood #1 (Arcade Fire)


Tags: Merge Records

Add to Digg Digg it   Add to del.icio.us Post to del.icio.us   Facebook Facebook
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines