More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Shonen Knife
Shonen Knife Return to the International Scene with Super Group
Bookmark and Share

By: Spacelab RE:search Staff

27 years! Shonen Knife have really been playing that long. After a recent period of laying low in Japan (in which they released fun! fun! fun! in 2007) they've signed to Good Charamel Records for the release of their new album Super Group on August 25th.


They've added support bassist Ritsuko to replace original bassist Atsuko in the lineup and will be touring Europe, Australia and North America.


Shonen Knife combine infectious melodies and stripped-down songs influenced by early punk, pop music, 1960s girl groups, Japanese pop art, and The Ramones. They alternate their singing between Japanese and English, giving their music a cool international sheen. They were global before the age of globalism.


Check out the MP3 of the song Super Group from the new album. You can make it your pop fix for the day in the form of Japanese power-pop-punk with an extra dose of saccharine. The girls sound good, the music is tight and upbeat.


Click to play MP3: Shonen Knife - Super Group



Shonen Knife: Super Group Track List
01. Super Group
02. Slug
03. Muddy Bubbles Hell
04. Deer Biscuits
05. BBQ Party
06. Pyramid Power
07. Time Warp
08. Na Na Na
09. Your Guitar
10. Jet
11. Evil Birds (bonus track)


Tags: Shonen Knife

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines