More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Polaris Music Prize
Fucked Up Wins 2009 Polaris Prize
Bookmark and Share

By: Spacelab Research Staff

Canada's Polaris Music Prize named its 2009 winner in Toronto on Monday, giving the prize to Fucked Up.

The winner was chosen from the Polaris Short List, which included Elliott Brood, Up, Great Lake Swimmers, Hey Rosetta!, K'NAAN, Malajube, Metric, Joel Plaskett, Chad VanGaalen, and Patrick Watson.

Other Polaris Music Prize winners include Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

Founder Steve Jordan said "If there's a common thread to these records, it's that each artist built on previous successes by pushing themselves into even riskier artistic dimensions."

The winner receives $20,000 (thus the prize), judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales. The Polaris Music Prize is awarded to the best full-length Canadian album released from June 1, 2008 to May 31, 2009.


Tags: Polaris Music Prize

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines