More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Behold the Future: Phantogram and Their Eyelid Movies

Bookmark and Share

By: Spacelab Research Staff


Behold the future ... Barsuk Records recently signed New York state natives Phantogram and are planning on releasing their album Eyelid Movies on February 9th of next year.


Their music is a combination of urban sounds, shoegaze, loops, and more. Check out the track When I'm Small to see how they throw it all together. The band consists of guitarist Josh Carter and keyboardist Sarah Barthel.


They'll be playing live on KEXP in New York on October 20th and will make an appearance at the CMJ Marathon on October 23rd, before jetting off to Europe to play anumber of shows in November.


Here's the word on the band from Barsuk Records: "... Josh Carter and Sarah Barthel, the duo that make up Phantogram, have flourished in Saratoga (New York). In fact, the town itself isn't rural enough for their taste — they drive almost every day another 45 minutes into upstate farmland to a barn they call Harmony Lodge to write and record. Serving as their homemade studio/practice space/think-tank/bat-cave, the barn is equipped with various samplers, tapes, records, synths, drums, and both percussive and stringed instruments, and it's there that Phantogram allows their natural surroundings and metropolitan influences to meld together creating beautiful, beat-driven dreamlike pop songs."


 MP3: Phantogram - When I'm Small

 STREAM: Phantogram - Mouthfull of Diamonds

Phantogram: Eyelid Movies Track List
01 mouthful of diamonds
02 when i'm small
03 turn it off
04 running from the cops
05 all dried up
06 as far as i can see
07 you are the ocean
08 bloody palms
09 futuristic casket
10 let me go
11 10,000 claps


Tags: Phantogram

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines