More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Tom Waits
Tom Waits and the Glitter and Doom Tour Gets Live CD
Bookmark and Share
By: Spacelab Research Staff

When he's not sticking it to the man over people using his music in advertisements, and when he's not making up tour acronyms in video press conferences, Tom Waits likes to play live shows. He did that in the summer of 2008 in Europe for the Glitter and Doom tour, which represented everything that is optimistic and pessimistic about Tom Waits, all under the banner of one nicely packaged and easy to consume live show.

Now it's been nicely packaged as a live CD for you to consume. It's a 2-disc set. The first disc plays like a live set, with tracks pulled from individual shows, lined up to sound like one, cohesive show. Disc two is a compilation of in-between song banter, including musings, comedy and stuff he just throws out at the audience.

"Musically, the live disc features all eras of Waits' eclectic glory as he shifts seamlessly from an array of characters: carnival barker, preacher, country singer, soul balladeer; cabaret singer and storyteller," says his recoding label Anti-.

He played his first-ever shows in Spain and the Czech Republic in a sparse set of gigs scheduled for the month of July. Old boy knows how to do it right, with days off in between shows to actually go out and see Europe, rather than speeding from gig to gig.


 INTERVIEW - Tom Waits


 VIDEO: Tom Waits News Conference



Tom Waits: Glitter and Doom Live Track List
01 - Lucinda / Ain't Goin Down
02 - Singapore
03 - Get Behind The Mule
04 - Fannin Street
05 - Dirt In The Ground
06 - Such A Scream
07 - Live Circus
08 - Goin' Out West
09 - Falling Down
10 - The Part You Throw Away
11 - Trampled Rose
12 - Metropolitan Glide
13 - I'll Shoot The Moon
14 - Green Grass
15 - Make It Rain
16 - Story
17 - Lucky Day


Tags: Olympics, Festival

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines