More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Radiohead Drummer to Release Solo Album
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes
By: Spacelab Research Staff
June 4, 2010

Radiohead drummer Phil Selway has a debut solo album titled Familial due out on August 30th via Bella Union. It sounds like a folk-ish type affair that leans on ballads and percussive loops. Phil Selway has invited guests Glenn Kotche (Wilco) Sebastian Steinberg (Soul Coughing), Lisa Germano and Pat Sansone to play on the album. It was produced by Ian Davenport at Courtyard Studios.

"“Familial” is a collection of sublimely fragile, haunting and heartfelt songs that will surprise many, and not only because drummers traditionally don’t do this kind of thing. “Familial” is so persuasively good, it sounds like Selway has always been a singer-songwriter," said label Bella Union about the album.

Radiohead might be working on their next big album release in Los Angeles, but it's not stopping other band members from doing side projects. Thom Yorke has played Coachella and will also be at The Big Chill.

Phil Selway: Familial Track List
01 By Some Miracle
02 -Beyond Reason
03 - A Simple Life
04 - All Eyes On You
05 -The Ties That Bind Us
06 - Patron Saint
07 - Falling
08 - Broken Promises
09 - Don't Look Down
10 - The Witching Hour


Tags: Phil Selway, Radiohead

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines