More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Polaris Music Prize Names 2010 Dates
Polaris Music Prize Names 2010 Long List
Bookmark and Share
By: Spacelab Research Staff
June 21, 2010

Canada's Polaris Music Prize is back with its long list for 2010, which was revealed at the Drake Hotel in Toronto. The winner will receive $20,000 (thus the prize), judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales. The Polaris Music Prize is awarded to the best full-length Canadian album released from June 1, 2009 to May 31, 2010; it's considered to the Canadian Album of the Year.

The Polaris Prize Long List includes Canadian music staples like Broken Social Scene, Jason Collett, Tegan and Sara and The New Pornographers; but also includes interesting up and coming acts like Crystal Castles, Plants and Animals and Elizabeth Shepherd.

Polaris Music Prize winners include Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

The list will be selected by over 200 members of the Polaris Music Prize jury, which consists of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from Canada. They try to avoid bias or old school deal-making by making sure that no music industry personnel with direct financial relationships with artists vote for Polaris.

2010 Polaris Prize Long List
Apollo Ghosts - Mount Benson (Vancouver)
Bahamas - Pink Strat (Toronto)
The Besnard Lakes - The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night (Montréal)
Blue Rodeo - The Things We Left Behind (Toronto)
Brasstronaut - Mt. Chimaera (Vancouver)
Broken Social Scene - Forgiveness Rock Record (Toronto)
Basia Bulat - Heart Of My Own (London)
By Divine Right - Mutant Message (Toronto)
Caribou – Swim (Dundas)
Jason Collett - Rat A Tat Tat (Toronto)
Crystal Castles - Crystal Castles (II) (Toronto)
Amelia Curran - Hunter Hunter (Halifax)
Fred Fortin - Plastrer La Lune (Montréal)
Frog Eyes - Paul's Tomb: A Triumph (Victoria)
Hannah Georgas - This Is Good (Vancouver)
Ghostkeeper - Ghostkeeper (Calgary)
Holy Fuck - Latin (Toronto)
Karkwa - Les Chemins De Verre (Montréal)
LeE HARVeY OsMOND - A Quiet Evil (Hamilton)
Greg MacPherson - Mr. Invitation (Winnipeg)
Dan Mangan - Nice, Nice, Very Nice (Vancouver)
Misteur Valaire - Golden Bombay (Montréal)
The New Pornographers - Together (Vancouver)
Owen Pallett - Heartland (Toronto)
Plants And Animals - La La Land (Montréal)
Radio Radio - Belmundo Regal (Montréal)
Justin Rutledge - The Early Widows (Toronto)
The Sadies - Darker Circles (Toronto)
Shad - TSOL (London)
Elizabeth Shepherd - Heavy Falls The Night (Toronto)
The Slew - 100% (Montréal)
Meaghan Smith - The Cricket's Orchestra (London)
South Rakkas Crew - The Stimulus Package (Toronto)
Tegan And Sara - Sainthood (Vancouver)
The Wooden Sky - If I Don't Come Home You'll Know I'm Gone (Toronto)
Hawksley Workman - Meat (Huntsville)
You Say Party! We Say Die! - XXXX (Vancouver)
Young Galaxy - Invisible Republic (Montréal)
Yukon Blonde - Yukon Blonde (Vancouver)
Zeus - Say Us (Toronto)


Tags: Polaris Music Prize

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines