More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Polaris Prize 2010 Short List Announced
Polaris Prize 2010 Short List Announced
Bookmark and Share
By: Spacelab Research Staff
July 7, 2010

Canada's Polaris Music Prize is back with its short list for 2010. The winner will receive $20,000 (thus the prize), judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales. The Polaris Music Prize is awarded to the best full-length Canadian album released from June 1, 2009 to May 31, 2010; it's considered to the Canadian Album of the Year.

The Polaris Prize short list includes some of Canadian staples you might expect, like Broken Social Scene or Tegan and Sara or Owen Pallett. But others have made the short list this year. Suprising qualifiers include: Radio Radio and The Sadies. See the full ist below and vote for who you think should win.


Check out any of the short list artists by clicking on their name in the list below.

Polaris Music Prize winners include Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

The short list was selected by over 200 members of the Polaris Music Prize jury, which consists of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from Canada. They try to avoid bias or old school deal-making by making sure that no music industry personnel with direct financial relationships with artists vote for Polaris.



2010 Polaris Prize Short List
THE BESNARD LAKES - The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night
OWEN PALLETT - Heartland
BROKEN SOCIAL SCENE - Forgiveness Rock Record
RADIO RADIO Belmundo Regal
THE SADIES - Darker Circles
KARKWA - Les Chemins De Verre
DAN MANGAN - Nice, Nice, Very Nice
TEGAN AND SARA - Sainthood


Tags: Polaris Music Prize

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines