More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Small Black Sets The New Normal as Dream-laden Modern Pop
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes - Tickets
By: Spacelab Research Staff
August 30, 2010
Get your modern pop on in the most innovative way with Small Black. The Brooklyn band recently signed with Jagjaguwar Records for the release of their album New Chain on October 25/26, and are already showing off their dream-laden take on pop music with the song "Photojournalist."

Small Black recorded the album in the musical mecca known as Delaware, before returning to the city to work with producer Nicolas Vernhes (Animal Collective, Dirty Projectors) at his Rare Book Room studio.

Why Delaware, of all places? Singer Josh Kolenik said that the band was "trying to take the excitement and stimulus of NYC to a place far from distractions, where it could be organized properly." I think it worked. Brooklyn bands take note: your future lies in Delaware.

Small Black: New Chain Track List
01 Camouflage
02 Search Party
03 Hydra
04 Photojournalist
05 Crisp 100s
06 Goons
07 Light Curse
08 New Chain
09 Panthers
10 Invisible Grid

Tags: Small Black

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines