More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Deerhoof vs. Evil
Deerhoof Sign to Polyvinyl Records, New Album On the Way
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes - Tickets
By: Spacelab Research Staff
October 11, 2010

Deerhoof, fresh off their triumphant tour with Xiu Xiu, have landed a deal with Polyvinyl Records for their next release. Titled Deerhoof vs. Evil, the album will be released in 2011 on January 25.

The new song "The Merry Barracks" is the first song to be released from the album. At first it sounds like the prototype of a Deerhoof song, quirky rhythms bashed out at unbearable volume, crunchy guitar, Satomi's voice floating over the top in regular Deerhoof-type fashion. The difference is the polish, and I mean that in a good way. They've managed to capture the Deerhoof sound in a new way that actually filters the individual components well and delivers them in a way that lets you hear them like they've never sounded on a Deerhoof recording.The songwriting style seems more sophisticated also. You can download the MP3 here.

Polyvinyl is describing Deerhoof vs. Evil this way: "The musical equivalent of hormones raging out of control, it explodes out of the speakers with its gawky triumph and inflamed sentimentality. These are songs that practically demand that you dance and sing along (however elastic the rhythms, or abrupt the melodies). Right from “Qui Dorm, Només Somia” (sung in Catalan), you know you're hearing a daring band, unafraid of the consequences of failing (critics be damned)."

This will mark the end of Deerhoof's relationship with former label Kill Rock stars, who saw the band through a great many years, and releases like The Runners Four.

Deerhoof vs. Evil will be released on vinyl (180 gram colored vinyl), MP3 and CD formats.

Deerhoof vs. Evil Track List:
01 Qui Dorm, Només Somia
02 Behold a Marvel in the Darkness
03 The Merry Barracks
04 No One Asked to Dance
05 Let's Dance the Jet
06 Super Duper Rescue Heads!
07 Must Fight Current
08 Secret Mobilization
09 Hey I Can
10 C'Moon
11 I Did Crimes for You
12 Almost Everyone, Almost Always


Tags: Deerhoof

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines