More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Black Francis (Pixies) Creates Film Score for The Golem
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes - Tickets
By: Spacelab Research Staff
October 13, 2010

Black Francis, a.k.a. Frank Black, has gotten all retro and created a film score to the 1920's film The Golem. It's being packaged as a Black Francis release, and will be released on November 16 under the title The Golem Rock Album.

The Golem: How He Came Into The World tells the story of the persecution of the Jews of Prague. Safe to say it's probably a dark film (two words: German Expressionism). The whole scoring thing came about when the San Francisco International Film Festival asked Black Francis score the film as well as do a live performance at theur annual film festival back in 2008. Not wanting to let a good thing go, he decided to later commit the whole thing to a recording.

Black went to Hyde Street Studios in San Francisco and worked with producer Eric Drew Feldman as well as Duane Jarvis on lead guitar, EDF on keys, Joseph Pope on bass, Jason Carter on drums and Ralph Carney on horns.

Black Francis: The Golem Track List
1 Miriam and Florian theme (version 2)
2 Makanujo
3 Bad News
4 The Flower Song
5 (Oh How I Wish I Could) Stay
6 The Word
7 Astaroth
8 The Obedient Servant
9 The Maharal
10 Little Stars Theme
11 Miriam and Florian
12 The Conjuring
13 Meet Me at the Ghetto Gates
14 Stars
15 Custom All the Way
16 You're Gonna Pay
17 The Word (reprise)
18 The Maharal (reprise)


Tags: Black Francis

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines