More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Seefeel Detail New Album, MP3 Available
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes - Tickets
By: Spacelab Research Staff
October 25, 2010

Seefeel is gettin' the band back together! Sort of. Original members Mark Clifford and Sarah have paired with new members Shigeru Ishihara and E-da for their first new material in 14 years. It's a self-titled album that will be released on February 7th, 2011, and will be available on vinyl, CD and download formats from Warp Records. They have an MP3 out right now for the song "Faults."

Seefeel created the archetype sound for the combination of ambient/electronic music and shoegaze/dream pop in the 1990's. They didn't fit into a nicely packaged marketing term (electronica, anyone?) and certainly were hard to nail down when describing their sound. They were electronic, but not dance-oriented. As a matter of fact, they were downright sleepy, placing them as part of the ambient camp. But they had traditional analog instruments like guitar, branding them as misfits in the electronic world. Even more so, they wandered into the opiate-induced shoegaze sound that was big in the 1990's.

"Seefeel were the first band that Warp signed who had guitars - they were brave to sign to us because they became the 'older siblings' in the family and took all the flak by breaking the unwritten rules of an (up until then) purely dance label," said Warp Records co-founder Steve Beckett about signing Seefeel back in the 1990's. They were coming from the Too Pure label, where they had released four EPs and the full-length album (and ambient masterpiece) Quique. They went on to release Succour on Warp in 1995.

MediaPlayer: STREAM: Seefeel - Faults

Seefeel - Seefeel Track List:
01 O-On One
02 Dead Guitars
03 Step Up
04 Faults
05 Gzaug
06 Rip-Run
07 Making
08 Step Down
09 Airless
10 Aug30
11 Sway


Tags: Seefeel

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines