Spacelab - indie music news, music festivals, music videos and free mp3 downloads, music reviews for indie rock, alternative music and electronic music. Music tech you can use.
More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
The Luyas Explode with Stunning Dream Pop
The Luyas Explode with Stunning Dream Pop
Bookmark and Share
Buy this artist on: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes - Tickets
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
By: Spacelab Research Staff
December 6, 2010

The Luyas are set to explode their spontaneous dream pop in 2011, with the release of a new album titled Too Beautiful to Work. They're working  with Jeff McMurrich (Tindersticks, Constantines) doing the engineering and Owen Pallett playing violin and doing some arrangements. Dead Oceans is calling it "A picture-perfect collection of echo-drenched space-age pop songs," also saying it "pops into retro-futurist sonic bliss."

Check out the MP3 of the song “Tiny Head”  then check out their live performance of the same song live at The Rialto earlier this year. The live piece ends in a pretty spellbinding way, wow and flutter and impromptu noise coming from a modulated French Horn. The Luyas have the ability to play live and improv their performance to a degree that sounds exciting and unpredictable. In a world of multi tracked recordings and fake live shows, their sound is refreshing and spontaneous.

The Luyas will release Too Beautiful to Work on Feb. 22, 2011 via Dead Oceans

The Luyas: Too Beautiful to Work Track List
01. Too Beautiful to Work
02. Worth Mentioning
03. Tiny Head
04. Moodslayer
05. Canary
06. Sperical Mattress
07. Cold Canada
08. What Mercy Is
09. I Need Mirrors
10. Seeing Things


Tags: The Luyas

Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines