More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Magnetic Fields Frontman Stephin Merritt to Release Obscurities

Bookmark and Share
Buy from: Amazon - Insound - eMusic - iTunes
By: Spacelab Research Staff
May 26, 2011

The Magnetic Fields frontman Stephin Merritt will release Obscurities on Aug. 23 via Merge Records. The release will focus on rare and hard to find Stephin Merritt tracks and will be released on CD, LP and download. Check out the song “Forever and a Day” below.

MP3: Stephin Merritt - “Forever and a Day”

Merritt fans will be glad to hear that Obscurities contains five previously unreleased songs, some of which are taken from a never-finished sci-fi musical called The Song From Venus. Also included are songs from Neil Gaiman’s audiobook Coraline and outakes from The Magnetic Fields’ 69 Love Songs album. B-sides from various vinyl singles from The Magnetic Fields round out the track list.

Stephin Merrit has a long history of music, including work with The Magnetic Fields, The 6ths and The Gothic Archies.

Stephin Merritt: Obscurities Track List
1 Forever and a Day (previously unreleased)
2 Rats in the Garbage of the Western World (The Magnetic Fields)
3 I Don’t Believe You (The Magnetic Fields)
4 Plant White Roses (Buffalo Rome)
5 Rot in the Sun (the 6ths)
6 The Sun and the Sea and the Sky (previously unreleased)
7 Yet Another Girl (the 6ths)
8 Scream (Till you Make the Scene) (previously unreleased)
9 The Song from Venus (previously unreleased)
10 Beach-A-Boop-Boop (The Magnetic Fields)
11 When I’m Not Looking, You’re Not There (The Magnetic Fields)
12 Take Ecstasy with Me (The Magnetic Fields)
13 When You’re Young and In Love (previously unreleased)
14 You Are Not My Mother and I Want to Go Home (The Gothic Archies)

Tags: Stephin Merritt, Magnetic Fields
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines