More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

More than A Feeling: Mister Heavenly Debut Out of Love Drops in August

Bookmark and Share
By: Corey Tate
June 03, 2011
The band Mister Heavenly is a combination of Nick Thorburn (Islands/The Unicorns), Ryan Kattner (Man Man), and Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse). I'm going to avoid the words "indie rock supergroup" before things turn nasty ... oops, too late! 3 people from well respected bands, in an interesting side project. Nice deviation from their other bands.

MP3: Mister Heavenly - “Pineapple Girl”

“We floated around getting different people to sing on each song, or making only one song, or making no songs at all but continuing to talk about Mister Heavenly as though it were a real thing with its own genre,” said Nick when talking about the origin of the idea. They tried hard to not make it into a thing, but more of a concept, maybe a 7" single or a free internet EP. Somewhere along the way they slipped, tripped, and made a whole album and signed to Sub Pop. This is a good thing.

Then there's the debut Mister Heavenly album, titled Out of Love, due out on Sub Pop Records on Aug. 16, available on CD, vinyl and download. It was recorded at Bear Creek Studio in Woodinville, WA, with Ryan Hadlock (Ra Ra Riot, Love of Diagrams) and recorded live to tape, old school style, in 12 days time. I'll bet they weren't even thinking about a computer when they made the recording.

Mister Heavenly: Out of Love Track List
01 Bronx Sniper
02 I Am a Hologram
03 Charlyne
04 Mister Heavenly
05 Harm You
06 Reggae Pie
07 Pineapple Girl
08 Diddy Eyes
09 Hold My Hand
10 Doom Wop
11 Your Girl
12 Wise Men
Tags: Mister Heavenly
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines