More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Polaris Prize Shortlist Announced for 2011 with Arcade Fire, Destroyer

Polaris Prize Shortlist Announced for 2011 with Arcade Fire, Destroyer

Bookmark and Share
By: Spacelab Research Staff
July 06, 2011

Canada's Polaris Music Prize has announced its Short List for 2011, as culled from the Long List. Who made the cut? Names like Arcade Fire, Destroyer, Austra, Ron Sexsmith and and more. See the full Polaris Prize Short List below.

The Polaris Music Prize Gala will be held on Sept. 19 in Toronto. You can usually listen to the event and all of the performances on the CBC live broadcast, or on Sirius Satellite Radio.

The winner receives $30,000 (Cash-money!), judged solely on artistic merit, without regard to genre or record sales. The Polaris Music Prize is awarded to the best full-length Canadian album released from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2011. They raised the amount of the Polaris Prize this year from $20,000 to $30,000.

Other Polaris Music Prize winners include Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009) Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

The list was selected by 213 members of the Polaris Music Prize jury, which consists of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada. They try to avoid bias or old school deal-making by making sure that no music industry personnel with direct financial relationships with artists vote for Polaris.

Polaris Music Prize Short List 2011

Arcade Fire
Hey Rosetta!
Ron Sexsmith
Colin Stetson
Timber Timbre
The Weeknd
Tags: Polaris Music Prize
Click here to subscribe Jack in to the RSS feed for Spacelab headlines