More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Air Will Release Le Voyage Dans La Lune, Based on a French Film

Bookmark and Share |  Follow Spacelab on Google+
By: Spacelab Research Staff
November 21, 2011

Air will release a new album titled Le Voyage Dans La Lune on Feb. 7 via Astralwerks, with a guest appearance by Victoria Legrand (Beach House) and include a song titled "Who Am I Now?" with lyrics written by Au Revoir Simone. The album is inspired by the film Le Voyage Dans La Lune by Georges Méliès, and the title means "A Trip to the Moon" when translated into english. NME  points out that the Air originally created a 14-minute soundtrack to a short film, but liked the project enough to turn it into an entire album of material. Victoria Legrand seems like a perfect paring for the music of Air, it makes me wonder why this colloboration hasn't happened before.

"'A Trip to the Moon' is undoubtedly more organic than most of our past projects. We wanted it to sound 'handmade and knocked together', a bit like Méliès' special effects. Everything is played live and like Méliès' film, our soundtrack is nourished by living art," said Nicolas Godin. This isn't the first soundtrack Air has done, they also created the lush soundtrack for The Virgin Suicides, a film by Sofia Coppola.

Le Voyage Dans La Lune will be a limited edition run of 70,000 copies and include a DVD of the film, which you can view above. You could even try run a Pink Floyd Dark Side of the Moon / The Wizard of Oz thing with another Air album just to get the vibe.

Air - Le Voyage Dans La Lune Track List
01 Astronomic Club
02 Seven Stars
03 Retour sur terre
04 Parade
05 Moon Fever
06 Sonic Armada
07 Who Am I Know?
08 Décollage
09 Cosmic Trip
10 Homme lune
11 Lava

Read more Music News.

Tags: Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus