More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Life on the Road: New M. Ward Album A Wasteland Companion Reflects Travels

Life on the Road: New M. Ward Album A Wasteland Companion Reflects Travels

By: Spacelab Research Staff
January 23, 2012

M. Ward will release a new album titled A Wasteland Companion on Apr. 10, via Merge Records. The new material reflects the way of life M. Ward has pursued over the past few years between juggling projects like She & Him, The Monsters of Folk ... and of course M. Ward. As a result, he had to rethink what he could bring with him on the road in a scaled down mode vs. everything else he had going:

“Between now and when I made Hold Time there has been a lot of traveling which requires a lot of reckoning with what to leave behind and what to carry – material and otherwise – and thinking about what I want versus what I need, creatively and otherwise. I wanted to get a reflection of that on the album. It was a process of stripping away my security blanket, which is the same four walls I always record in.”

He also has a looong list of contributors that include Mike Coykendall, Howe Gelb (Giant Sand), John Parish, Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), Susan Sanchez, Zooey Deschanel (She & Him), Jordan Hudson, Adam Selzer, Nathan “JR” Andersen, Scott McPherson, Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth), Tobey Leaman (Dr. Dog), Tom Hagerman (Devotchka), Rachel Cox (Oakely Hall), Amanda Lawrence, John Graboff and Tyler Tornfelt. Recording engineers included Tom Schick (Rufus Wainwright) and John Parish (PJ Harvey).

M. Ward: A Wasteland Companion Track List
1. Clean Slate (for Alex & El Goodo)
2. Primitive Girl
3. Me And My Shadow
4. Sweetheart
5. I Get Ideas
6. The First Time I Ran Away
7. A Wasteland Companion
8. Watch The Show
9. There’s A Key
10. Crawl After You
11. Wild Goose
12. Pure Joy

Read more Music News

Tags: Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus