More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
New Sonic Youth Live Album Coming ... From A Cassette Tape  

New Sonic Youth Live Album Coming ... From A Cassette Tape

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter
September 10, 2012

We're in that phase with Sonic Youth ... dig through the archives and see what can be released. On the upside -- we could se a literal goldmine of material in coming months and years as the band works through decades of material. They announced today the release of a live album from 1985 called Smart Bar - Chicago 1985, and it arrives on Nov. 14 via the band's own Goofin’ Records. Here's a rundown of some of those involved: liner notes by Gerard Cosloy as well as photos by Pat Blashill and Steven Koress.

The live show happened as Sonic Youth doing the Bad Moon Rising tour of the US, and true to analog form at the time, it was recorded on 4-track cassette. Talk about tape hiss to add to the whole experience ... should be awesome. Also includes early workings of the songs Expressway to Yr Skull and Secret Girl that surfaced later on the EVOL album.

Sonic Youth – Smart Bar – Chicago 1985 Track List
01 - Hallowe’en
02 - Death Valley ’69
03 - Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)
04 - I Love Her All The Time
05 - Ghost Bitch
06 - I’m Insane
07 - Kat ‘N’ Hat
08 - Brother James
09 - Kill Yr Idols
10 - Secret Girl
11 - Flower
12 - The Burning Spear
13 - Expressway To Yr Skull
14 - Making The Nature Scene

Read more Music News

Tags: Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus