More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
DeVotchKa Are Releasing Their First Live Album EVER, Check Out A Preview  

DeVotchKa Are Releasing Their First Live Album EVER, Check Out A Preview

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter
October 29, 2012

DeVotchKa is going to release their first-ever live album, and they've decided to all out. Titled "DeVotchKa Live with the Colorado Symphony," the album is just that ... the played with the symphony last Winter in Denver, treating the audience at Boettcher Concert Hall to fourteen songs backed by the 60-piece Colorado Symphony Orchestra. The album has a release date of Nov. 13 in Cicero Recordings on Cicero Recordings. Check out the song "Along The Way" above from the album.

"Featuring a number of DeVotchKa's most popular songs enhanced by a full symphony, each song is both at once familiar and novel, with the lush arrangements and beautiful swells enhancing the band’s already epic sound" says the blurb about the album in the DeVothcka in their web store. Devothchka referring to themselves in the third person?

DeVotchKa is a rock band that defies simple description, like the movie Memento, or when the Beatles first invaded the North American shores. The term "rock band" is used with the most open intention possible, because listening to their music makes one think of the barren streets of Russia or the Romanian countryside. But that's exactly what DeVotchKa is - a group of contradiction. They favor the theremin and sousaphone to the electric guitar, uniting every type of world music you could possibly think of with the familiar backing of rock and folk music. Now they've added the Colorado Symphony.

DeVotchKa Live with the Colorado Symphony Track List
1. The Alley
2. The Clockwise Witness
3. Along the Way
4. The Common Good
5. You Love Me
6. All the Sand in All the Sea
7. Firetrucks on the Broadwalk
8. Comrade Z
9. Undone
10. Queen of the Surface Streets
11. We're Leaving
12. Contrabanda
13. The Enemy Guns
14. How it Ends

Tags: Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus