More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Javelin Second Full Length Hi Beams Out March 5 on Luka Bop + MP3

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter
January 11, 2013

Tom Van Buskirk and George Langford have been living a rock and roll fantasy in New York. Signed to both David Byrne's Luka Bop Records and Thrill Jockey, their band Javelin is set to release a new album called Hi Beams on March 5 on Luka Bop. It's a step forward for Javelin, as the press material point out, because they're "using proper microphones, a vintage mixing desk, an array of amplifiers, real plate reverb - in the traditional sense a "studio album." Previous work had been cobbled together in home studios and mixed on computer." Which should make for an interesting experiment.

The band has been known in the past for its low powered FM broadcast shows, in which they stack boomboxes (affectionately called Boombatas) in pyramids and encourage audience members to bring boomboxes, creating a participation-oriented show. Their sound is an eclectic cut-and-paste workout of found sounds and music.

Javelin - Hi Beams Track List

1. Light Out
2. Nnormal
3. Judgement
4. Airfield
5. Friending
6. l'Ocean
7. Drummachines
8. City Pals
9. Garth Hudson
10. The Stars

Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus