More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  

Small Black Announce New Album Limits of Desire + New Song

Small Black Announce New Album Limits of Desire + New Song

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter | LinkedIn
February 28, 2013

Synth-based electro indie pop band Small Black are readying the release of their new album Limits of Desire, and today they've released the song "Free at Dawn" above. The album's release date is May 14. Small Black is slightly lo-fi-ish with programmed drum beats and a sort of understated anthem quality to it. It's like the triumph of the underdog, a well-liked story in these modern times. Now expanded to four-piece band, Josh Hayden Kolenik (keys, vocals), Ryan Heyner (guitar, keys, vocals), Juan Pieczanski (bass, guitar) and Jeff Curtin (drums, percussion) have emerged from bedroom recording, experimental anything goes style into more of a songwriting, deeper level. If you gig M83, these guys have a similar but different vibe going on.

Their label JagJaguwar calls them "locked and popped drum-shudder, gauzy spirographic synths and subtly contagious, half-remembered melody into ebullient bursts of evocative, subliminal and thoroughly modern pop.

Small Black - Limits of Desire Track List
1. Free At Dawn
2. Canoe
3. No Stranger
4. Sophie
5. Breathless
6. Proper Spirit
7. Only A Shadow
8. Limits of Desire
9. Shook Loves
10. Outskirts

Tags: Music News, Electronic Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus