More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Astralwerks Is Celebrating Its 20th Anniversary With A Record Store Day Box Set

Astralwerks Is Celebrating Its 20th Anniversary With A Record Store Day Box Set

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter | LinkedIn
April 8, 2013

New school-old school-new school electronic music label Astralwerks is celebrating its 20 year anniversary with a Record Store Day release that includes a deep bunch of tracks that's a great retrospective of the what the label has done. Within the first four songs you're already hit with - The Chemical Brothers - Block Rockin' Beats, The Beta Band - Dry The Rain and Fatboy Slim - Praise You ... these guys ain't messin' around.

Astralwerks was a de rigeur label in the 1990's with acts like Chemical Brothers, Basement Jaxx and Fatboy Slim, they led what was nauseatingly branded "electronica" by the industry, but was still a musical movement that had a lot of impact at the time. The Internet was taking off, electronics were redefining our culture, and electronic music and Astralwerks were at the forefront of that.

The Record Store Day release is a limited edition box set called Astralwerks - Music In 20/20, meaning that it has 20 artists for 20 years. They're releasing on "retro-groovy vinyl flexi discs," and you can find out more at astralwerks.com/20

“It is incredible to be a driving force in electronic music and DJ culture for 20 years starting with The Future Sound Of London, The Chemical Brothers and Fatboy Slim, leading into such iconic legends as Kraftwerk and Pet Shop Boys and landing where we are today with David Guetta and Swedish House Mafia.”

Astralwerks - Music in 20/20 Track List
01 - Future Sound of London - The Far Out Son Of Lung And The Ramblings Of A Madman (Original 12" Version)
02 - The Chemical Brothers - Block Rockin' Beats
03 - The Beta Band - Dry The Rain
04 - Fatboy Slim - Praise You
05 - Cassius - Cassius 1999
06 - Doves - The Cedar Room [Promo-only version previously unreleased in the US]*
07 - Kings of Convenience - Winning A Battle, Losing The War (J-Walk Remix) [Previously unreleased in the US]*
08 - Basement Jaxx - Where's Your Head At
09 - Royksopp - Poor Leno
10 - Sia - Breathe Me (Four Tet Remix)
11 - Hot Chip - My Shit's On Fire Right Now [First ever commercial release]*
12 - The Kooks - Put Your Back to My Face [Previously unreleased in the US]*
13 - Empire Of The Sun - Walking On A Dream
14 - David Guetta - Sexy Bitch (feat. Akon)
15 - Air - Indian Summer [Previously unreleased in the US]*
16 - Kraftwerk - Die Roboter [German language version of "The Robots." Previously unreleased in the US]*
17 - Eric Prydz - Allein
18 - Swedish House Mafia - Don't You Worry Child (feat. John Martin)
19 - Diamond Rings - Put Me On (Diamond Dance) [Previously unreleased]
20 - Gold Fields - Dark Again

Tags: Music News, Electronic Music News
Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus

Creative Commons Copyright, 2017. Some Rights Reserved.
SPACELAB is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 United States License. MORE >
ASIA     RSS