More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
White Stripes Fans Dig This: New Live Album, New Demos, New Photos from Elephant  

White Stripes Fans Dig This: New Live Album, New Demos, New Photos from Elephant


By: Corey Tate
Follow me: Twitter | Google+ | LinkedIn
April 9, 2013


The White Stripes Nation will love this ... a new Third Man Records vault package has been announced for the tenth anniversary of their album Elephant, with three items: a live White Stripes performance called Nine Miles From The White City, a 7" with unreleased demo recordings, and a photo book about the band's classic album Elephant.

Nine Miles From The White City is from a performance at the Aragon Ballroom in Chicago, in 2003, and runs almost an hour and a half and has 26 songs in which the band perform "a rare live performance of Captain Beefheart's "Party of Special Things to Do", an especially frenetic "The Hardest Button to Button" as well as the Stripes Christmas tune "Candy Cane Children." Hearing "Seven Nation Army" in the middle of a set (and not as a closer or encore where it would soon find itself for the remainder of the band’s career) is a quaint reminder of the inauspicious beginnings of the future stadium anthem," according to Third Man Records.

Check out a preview of "The Hardest Button to Button" from Nine Miles From The White City below.

The 7' vinyl in the vault package features demos of the songs "I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother's Heart" and "Little Acorns. Check out "I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother's Heart" below.

The photo book surrounding the release of Elephant has photos taken by David Swanson as the band recorded the album ... and these should all be new the the White Stripes jet set because only three of the photos have been published before.

Nine Miles from the White City Track List
- When I Hear My Name
- Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
- Love Sick (Bob Dylan)
- Hotel Yorba
- Aluminum
- Cool Drink of Water Blues (Tommy Johnson)
- The Hardest Button to Button
- I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother's Heart
- Stones in My Passway (Robert Johnson)
- Stop Breakin' Down (Robert Johnson)
- Do
- In the Cold, Cold Night
- Seven Nation Army
- The Same Boy You've Always Known
- Black Jack Davey (traditional)
- We Are Going to Be Friends
- Offend in Every Way
- Little Cream Soda
- Cannon/Party of Special Things to Do (Captain Beefheart)
- Candy Cane Children
- The Air Near My Fingers
- Screwdriver (tease)
- Ball and Biscuit
- Screwdriver (reprise)
- Let's Build a Home
- Goin' Back to Memphis (Henry & June)

Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus

Creative Commons Copyright, 2017. Some Rights Reserved.
SPACELAB is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 United States License. MORE >
ASIA     RSS