More ...
  Video   Streaming    MP3   Indie Rock   Electronic Music   Festivals   Live           



Spacelab Retrograde: Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space


By: Corey Tate
Follow me: Twitter | Google+ | LinkedIn
June 27, 2013


From the opening lines of  “Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space” in which Kate Radley says the song and album title to the larger than life sound that “Come Together” roars in on, you know you’re in for a fantastic voyage. LAGWAFIS is one of the most complete and dynamic compilations of the Spiritualized vibe, it bridges the earlier offerings like Lazer Guided Melodies and Pure Phase with the future sounds on Let It Come Down and Songs in A&E in one complete and composite whole. It happened during the revolutionary end of the 1990s, and was another album in a prolific period of music that still impacts the way bands create music today. Jason Pierce and Co. were all over this one as it was their prime.

The oscillation between mass chaos to the most sublime and smooth sounds highlights the intensity of Jason Pierce's agonizing over the loss of his girlfriend Kate Radley (to Richard Ashcroft of The Verve) offset by his drug use to ease the pain. This is his story, told through noise and drones and quiet humming and cacophony.  It was NME's album of the year in 1997, beating out OK Computer from Radiohead and Urban Hymns from The Verve, both legendary albums in their own right.


01 Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space (I Can't Help Falling In Love) – 3:40
02 Come Together – 4:40
03 I Think I'm in Love – 8:10
04 All of My Thoughts – 4:36
05 Stay with Me – 5:08
06 Electricity – 3:45
07 Home of the Brave – 2:35
08 The Individual – 4:02
09 Broken Heart – 6:38
10 No God Only Religion – 4:21
11 Cool Waves – 5:06
12 Cop Shoot Cop… – 17:00

Twitter hashtag: #spacelabretrograde

Spacelab Retrograde: Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space

Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus