More ...
  Music News     Music Festival News     Tour Dates Search  
Shearwater Has A New Album On Sub Pop This Fall  

Shearwater Has A New Album On Sub Pop This Fall

By: Spacelab Research Staff
Follow Spacelab on: Google+ | Twitter | LinkedIn
August 28, 2013

Upcoming from Shearwater: Fellow Travelers on Sub Pop Records on Nov. 26. The alt-country indie rock band was started by Jonathan Meiburg and Will Sheff as a project to exist outside Okkervil River and focus on a more folk-oriented approach. The release date is two days before Thanksgiving, making it the perfect soundtrack for your trip to Thanksgiving Day festivities.

Fellow Travelers was helped along with an effort from Danny Reisch at his Good Danny’s and Public Hi-Fi studios in Austin, Texas. He was the producer, mixer and engineer on the album.

Jonathan Meiburg described the powerhouse sound of the song “I Luv The Valley OH!!” (listen below) by saying “Xiu Xiu’s deeply anxious song always seemed like it wanted to be a big rock anthem to me, so we decided to go for it and and blow it out.  I played a white 3-pickup SG (like Sister Rosetta Tharpe!) through a Marshall stack (like AC/DC!)  for the opening guitar riff – not a sound that’s ever appeared on a SW rec before – and Cully Symington whacked the drums with mallets as hard as he could, sounding more like the Swans’ orchestral-percussion approach than a regular drum set.  I love how this song – about imploring a partner to take Mifeprex, I’m pretty sure - seems to explode and implode at the same time, a state of ecstatic terror that Jamie’s music often inhabits and that lurks in a lot of my songs, too.


Shearwater - Fellow Travelers Tracklist:

1) “Our Only Sun” – a fragment of the song “Deeper Devastation,”  by Jesca Hoop

2) “I Luv the Valley OH!!” – Xiu Xiu

3) “Hurts Like Heaven” – Coldplay

4) “To Be of Use” –  Smog

5) “Natural One” – Folk Implosion

6) “Ambiguity” – David Thomas Broughton

7) “Cheerleader” – St. Vincent

8) “Tomorrow” – Clinic  

9) “A Wake for the Minotaur” – Shearwater & Sharon Van Etten

10) “Mary is Mary” –  Wye Oak

11) “Fucked Up Life”  - The Baptist Generals


Buy This On: iTunes   Amazon   Google Play   InSound   eMusic

Click here to subscribe RSS feed for Spacelab headlines
blog comments powered by Disqus